Virginia Auto Insurance State Laws, Required Liability Minimums, Pricing

If a person chooses not to obtain and maintain a Virginia auto insurance policy, he or she is required to pay $500 to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for an Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) fee. Proof of insurance or proof of UMV is mandatory, regardless of the age of the driver. While the median age of a Virginia resident is 35, Virginia has programs in place to support mature drivers and maintain driver safety.

Insurance laws require proof of insurance or payment of the UMV fee in order to obtain license plates and any required state decals. The insurance provider you select must be authorized to conduct business in Virginia and should sell you a policy for at least the minimum requirement of $25,000 per person and $50,000 for two or more people for bodily injury and/or death as well as $20,000 for property damage. Be aware that this is not necessarily enough to cover your financial needs when an accident occurs.

If insurance is not elected; motorists must pay the UMV fee. The UMV fee is not an insurance policy. It merely allows you to drive an uninsured vehicle while holding you personally liable for any accident that is your fault. The fee expires at the same time as your registration and has to be paid again at the time of your renewal.

The penalty for not having insurance or not having paid the UMV fee is $500. There is also a fee for reinstatement, which is currently $85. Furthermore, a driver being caught without the proper requirements is required to obtain proof of insurance for three years. If the policy is cancelled during the three years, the Virginia auto insurance provider must promptly notify the DMV. Therefore, it is always recommended to either pay the UMV or obtain required Virginia auto insurance.

There are over seven million people living in Virginia, and almost 800,000 of them are over 65 years in age. Although age related driving skills can start to decline as early as 60, it is often more evident after the age of 75. Once a resident reaches the age of 80, he is required to appear at the DMV in person to take a vision test, which must be passed with a minimum of 20/40 in at least one eye. In addition to vision, Alzheimer's disease, arthritis, diabetes, Parkinson's disease, and strokes are all factors that can impact the driving ability of mature drivers. Prescription drugs can also impair a driver and should be tested for side effects before driving.

To continue driving safely as you age, be sure everyone is restrained properly in the vehicle at all times. Drive during times when traffic is less congested and when there is adequate daylight. If you can plan your trip ahead of time, try to incorporate more right hand turns because left hand turns tend to be more risky. Classes for driver improvement can help you keep maintain your driving skills and you should always be sure to carry at least the minimum amount of Virginia auto insurance liability coverage to protect you in case of an accident.

Car Insurance
  • Rates
  • Quotes
  • Compare
  • Buy
Liability minimums for Virginia auto insurance are set at $25,000/$50,000/$20,000, but more extensive coverage is recommended.

Driving without Virginia auto insurance will result in steep fines, reinstatement fees and possibly jail time if you're caught.

Check additional valuable information of your State Insurance department organization.
Search for Cheap Car Insurance Quotes by State