Utah Auto Insurance Best Rates, Liability Requirements, Penalties

When it comes to Utah auto insurance, you have two options: carry private insurance or do not drive. Utah, unlike many other states, does not allow drivers to self-insure, even fleet vehicles or those who can prove personal financial responsibility. This means you must know what the requirements are for minimum coverage.

Utah is a no-fault state, which requires that you carry both liability insurance and PIP coverage. The liability coverage minimum requirements are $25,000 per person bodily injury, $65,000 per accident bodily injury, and $15,000 property damage coverage per accident. The PIP requirement is $3,000 per accident, which is used to cover your medical expenses in case an accident should occur.

No-fault state means that you are personally responsible for any damages to your vehicle if an accident should occur, no matter who is at fault. There are only eleven states that have a no-fault insurance policy and only nine of them allow you to sue other drivers in certain situations. Utah is one of those states that allows you to sue if specific criteria are met. This could be a financial requirement (damages exceed a certain amount of money) or a physical one (such as death or very high medical expenses because of the accident). The idea of having a no-fault state in terms of auto accidents is to reduce the amount of lawsuits that occur when there is an accident.

Driving without a valid Utah auto insurance policy can result in some serious fines. Utah is very strict, and a first offense will garner you a $400 fine, and you will get a class B misdemeanor conviction. You may also face having your driver's license and registration suspended. Once your suspension is up, you will have to pay a $40 fine and provide proof of insurance at the same time. After the first offense, you will face fines up to $1,000.

Utah uses a point system to monitor your driving. Zero points means that you have never had a traffic violation. You can receive a maximum of 200 points on your driver's license before you have to go to court. If you get 200 points on your license, then you will either have your license suspended or revoked. This decision will be based on the reasons for your points (speeding versus drunk driving, for example). If you are a driver under 21 years of age, you will face a court hearing if you accumulate 70 points on your driver's license. Points will stay on your license for three years before they are removed. It is important to recognize that your points will affect your auto insurance rates and cause them to increase.

There has been an increase of 12% in Utah auto insurance premiums since September of 2008. As such, it is important that you get a car insurance rate quote annually to ensure that you are saving money on your auto insurance policy. You should follow all traffic laws and carry your insurance card with you at all times to avoid being fined and risking an increase on your Utah auto insurance rates.

Car Insurance
  • Rates
  • Quotes
  • Compare
  • Buy
The liability minimums for Utah auto insurance policies are rather high at $25,000/$65,000/$15,000 plus 83000 dollar per accident PIP requirement.

If you are found to be driving without a valid policy for Utah auto insurance, you will be fined $400 and charged with a Class B misdemeanor - just to begin with.

Check additional valuable information of your State Insurance department organization.
Search for Cheap Car Insurance Quotes by State