Tennessee Auto Insurance Premium Rates, Minimums, Money Savings Tips

Some moving violations will not affect your Tennessee auto insurance premiums. While breaking the seat belt law can result in a citation, it will not affect your insurance. You cannot be arrested for violating the seat belt law, which is a Class C misdemeanor. A conviction will not be reported, except for law enforcement purposes, and your driving record will not be assessed any points. The fine for violating the seat belt law ranges from $10 to $20.

In Tennessee, all passengers regardless of age must wear proper safety restraints (seat belts) when traveling in the front seats. Adults riding in the back seat do not need to be restrained, but children under the age of eighteen must wear their seat belts. Infants under one year and less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing infant car seat. Some rear-facing infant car seats have a higher weight and height limit, which allows the infant to ride rear facing beyond age one.

Children up to the age of four must ride in a car seat and children aged four to eight must ride in a booster seat. If the child is taller than four feet, nine inches, he is then required to wear a seat belt, as is all children past the age of nine. It is also recommended that the front seat not be occupied by anyone under the age of 12. Tennessee law further requires that car seats are federally approved and that the manufacturer's guidelines are followed.

Although your Tennessee auto insurance rates will not be affected by breaking the seat belt law, it is a law that can have grave consequences if broken. Statistics show that one person dies every hour in the United States due to not wearing a seat belt. Seat belts are the main cause of motor vehicle crash fatalities, with an estimated 7,000 people dying every year from not being properly restrained. An estimated 13,000 people are saved every year because of wearing their seat belts.

Child safety seats have been shown to reduce the risk of infant fatalities by 71% and toddler fatalities by 54%. Since 75% of fatal crashes occur within 25 miles of home traveling at speeds less than 40 miles per hour, it is necessary to wear your seat belt at all times. Of course, any time you are involved in an accident, or cause injuries your insurance rates are likely to rise. Making sure that you develop safe driving habits over the course of your lifetime will result in sustainable decreases concerning your Tennessee auto insurance costs.

There are some people that are exempt from the seat belt laws, such as United States mail carriers, utility workers, and meter readers. However, they are only exempt while they are working. The same applies to newspaper delivery carriers and auto dealership test drivers. Parades, hayrides, and field to field highway crossing vehicles are also exempt provided they are driving less than fifteen miles per hour. Certain handicapped people may also be exempt with a doctor's note.

Whether you are exempt from the seat belt law or not, you are always required to carry Tennessee auto insurance. The liability minimums are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $15,000 for property damage. Wearing seatbelts and safe driving will keep your driving record spotless and your rates affordable.

http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/

Car Insurance
  • Rates
  • Quotes
  • Compare
  • Buy
By developing safe driving habits, maintaining a good credit score, and shopping comparatively, your rates for Tennessee auto insurance will remain quite manageable.

Certain minor traffic citations will have no negative impact on your Tennessee auto insurance premiums.

Check additional valuable information of your State Insurance department organization.
Search for Cheap Car Insurance Quotes by State