Rhode Island Auto Insurance Lowest Rates, Coverage Options, Minimums

Choosing the best Rhode Island auto insurance coverage can be a little confusing considering that there are over 30 licensed companies in Rhode Island ready and willing to sell you car insurance. There is an upside for you, however, and that is that all this competition makes it possible for you to get a good deal on your auto insurance if you are willing to do a little research and make sure that you receive all of the discounts that you qualify for. Although Rhode Island requires that all registered cars have minimum insurance coverage, the state does not determine how much companies charge for that insurance. That is why it is possible to receive different levels of quotes from insurers when you are looking for car insurance.

The Rhode Island DMV requires that every vehicle have coverage of at least $25,000 bodily injury for a single person, $50,000 bodily injury for multiple people per accident, and $25,000 property damage coverage per accident. Rhode Island, as a tort state, requires that someone take the blame in an accident, and accepts financial responsibility for the accident. This means that if you cause an accident, you are responsible for paying all damages so you should ensure that you carry adequate insurance for your vehicle.

In Rhode Island, you must be able to show proof of insurance on demand. Most officers will check for insurance on a routine traffic shop and there are times when the DMV randomly selects individuals to show proof of insurance via the mail. If you do not have a valid Rhode Island auto insurance policy - and you own a registered vehicle you will receive a citation with a fine of $500 and you will face the possibility of having a three month suspension placed on your driver's license.

Saving money on your auto insurance is not that difficult if you know what an insurance company looks for when they offer you a car insurance rate quote. One of the things that a car insurance company considers is the type of car you own. Believe it or not, a more expensive car with all the bells and whistles will not be as affordable to insure as your neighbor's six year old car with anti-lock brakes and a driver's side air bag. One of the things to understand is that the more expensive the car, the more expensive it is to insure. At present, the most expensive new car to insure in 2009 is the Nissan GT-R. The least expensive new car to insure is the Hyundai Santa Fe.

If you want to lower your Rhode Island auto insurance rates, you should choose a vehicle that is less expensive to insure, maintain a good driving record, keep your insurance policy paid up at all times, maintain good credit, and make sure that you have the latest anti-theft and safety devices on your vehicle. You should also choose to get a comparative car insurance rate quote so that you can choose the car insurance that offers you the best choices at the lowest price possible.

http://www.dbr.state.ri.us/

Car Insurance
  • Rates
  • Quotes
  • Compare
  • Buy
The minimum liability requirement on your Rhode Island auto insurance policy for cumulative bodily damages in one accident is $50,000.

A tort system is the basis for all Rhode Island auto insurance regulations.

Check additional valuable information of your State Insurance department organization.
Search for Cheap Car Insurance Quotes by State