Oregon Auto Insurance Minimum Liability Requirements, Ways to Save

Little known facts set Oregon auto insurance regulations apart from many of those in the insurance systems in other states throughout the country. The state requires a higher than usual amount of vehicle insurance coverage, including its own type of no-fault insurance. The use of credit reporting as a factor in car insurance premiums and policy issuance is subject to tight restrictions. If you are over 55 you can improve your diving record by taking a defensive driving course. These are just some of the uncommon things about Oregon car insurance.

If you own a car in the state of Oregon, you must carry a variety of mandatory insurance. Oregon auto insurance minimums are as follows: The liability limits start at $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 bodily injury in total per accident and $10,000 property damage coverage per accident. In addition, uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage must be carried in the same limits as bodily injury liability coverage. Personal injury protection or PIP in the amount of $15,000 is also required coverage and allows Oregon a no-fault type of car insurance system.

The Oregon auto insurance industry is one of select few in the country which have put limitations in place regarding the use of credit scoring for car insurance rates. The law forbids using an existing customer's credit rating to increase his or her auto insurance premium, cancel the policy or refuse to renew it.

Credit information can only be used as a determining factor for issuing new policies. The company or agent needs to show that it does use other factors also in its underwriting. It must also inform the client of how it intends to use the information prior to pulling the credit report. If a negative outcome arises because of information contained in the credit report, the company must provide concrete reasons for such outcomes.

If you are concerned with the impact of your credit report on your car insurance, you can consult your credit report via Equifax, Trans Union or Experian. If you find inaccuracies you can correct them by following the procedure set out by the credit bureaus. You can significantly improve your credit score by repairing errors. In turn, this can help you save money on car insurance.

Another little known way to save money on Oregon auto insurance is with the use of driver training courses for adults aged 55 and older. Courses do have to be certified by Oregon State. Discounts will be applied to your auto insurance policy upon completion of such courses.

There are an abundance of other tips on how to save money on your Oregon auto insurance policy. Before you start looking around for car insurance rate quotes, do a little research so you know exactly what those discounts are and how to get the best deal possible on your premiums. Get your unique, but trustworthy, Oregon policy today.

http://www.cbs.state.or.us/external/ins/index.html

Car Insurance
  • Rates
  • Quotes
  • Compare
  • Buy
The minimum liability limit for single person bodily damage is set at $25,000 for Oregon auto insurance policies.

Complete a driver's improvement course to reduce your premium rates for Oregon auto insurance.

Check additional valuable information of your State Insurance department organization.
Search for Cheap Car Insurance Quotes by State