Oklahoma Auto Insurance Laws, Minimum Liability, State Safety Programs

While Oklahoma auto insurance requirements are simple to understand, there are some laws that may be confusing, such as the Open Container law. This law changed dramatically when Oklahoma became one of 39 states to join TEA-21 (Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century). Oklahoma has further taken steps in modern approaches with its alternative PTDE (Parent Taught Driver Education) program.

Teenagers who do not attend public schools or do not have commercial driving schools in their vicinity have another option to driver's education. Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE) is a curriculum based alternative method that requires 30 hours of classroom training and 55 hours of instructional driving. Regardless of education, licensed teenagers do not have full driving privileges. For example, they are not allowed to drive motor vehicles for their job.

Both minors and adults may be under the impression that the Open Container law allows the consumption of alcohol while riding in a motor vehicle so long as the driver is not participating. While this was true at one time, the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21) indirectly changed the laws surrounding open containers. Enacted as Public Law in 1998, TEA-21 remained in existence for its full term of six years. The reauthorization of TEA-21, known as Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act (SAFETEA), was reinstated in 2005 and remains in effect through 2009.

Oklahoma auto insurance premiums will be lowered in the long run if all state motorists develop safe driving habits. Since state laws and sometimes even city ordinances control the Open Container laws, the federal government decided to use TEA-21 as an incentive to change those laws and encourage motor vehicle safety. Compliance with TEA-21 involves six requirements, one of which prohibits open containers of alcohol in motor vehicles. States that comply with TEA-21 receive budgeted roadway funding and states that don't comply have a percentage of their roadway funding given to alcohol education awareness programs instead.

The state of Oklahoma complied and by breaking their Open Container law now you not only possibly affect your Oklahoma auto insurance, but it may cost you up to $500 in fines and/or six months of jail time. Additionally, a $100 fine gets paid to the Trauma Care Fund. So where the law once allowed open containers of alcohol, it now does not allow for any open containers except in the cases of a hired bus charter or a limousine that is driven by a hired chauffeur. Taxicabs are not exempt from the law and open containers are not allowed.

In order to comply with car insurance laws, you must carry limited liability of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 for two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage. Even if you don't own a car, licensed drivers must carry no-owner auto insurance. Proof of your policy must be carried at all times in the event you are stopped by law enforcement. To avoid being fined up to $250, getting sentenced to up to thirty days in jail, and having your driver's license and vehicle registration get suspended, be sure to comply with Oklahoma auto insurance laws.

http://www.cbs.state.or.us/external/ins/index.html

Car Insurance
  • Rates
  • Quotes
  • Compare
  • Buy
Cumulative bodily damage liability minimums for Oklahoma auto insurance policies are set at $50,000.

Failure to comply with Oklahoma auto insurance laws can land you up to 30 days in jail - on top of having your driver's license suspended and paying fines.

Check additional valuable information of your State Insurance department organization.
Search for Cheap Car Insurance Quotes by State