Minnesota auto Insurance Minimum Coverage Laws, Noncompliance Penalties

Living in a no fault state such as Minnesota means that there are different auto insurance rules than there are in tort states. Minnesota auto insurance premiums are more expensive than the national average. Also, the minimum requirements must include not only liability insurance, but PIP and underinsured auto insurance. The state average for auto insurance is $2008 a year while the national average is $1807; this difference is attributed to the higher amount of required auto insurance minimum in this state.

Minnesota auto insurance minimums must be $30,000 bodily for a single person, $60,000 bodily injury for multiple people in an accident and $10,000 for property damage. In addition to liability insurance drivers must have PIP, which is medical coverage in the amount of $40,000 per person, $20,000 is for medical expenses and $20,000 for expenses that are not medically related such as loss of work due to the accident. Lastly, Minnesota requires that you carry uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 for injuries to one person and $50,000 for two or more people.

Minnesota has an on demand system for drivers. You can be stopped for no reason and be required to show proof of insurance. Most officers will require that you show proof of insurance if you are stopped for any reason and you must show proof of insurance if you have an accident. You should always carry your Minnesota auto insurance card in your glove box at all times; it is the law.

Minnesota is also very strict about upholding their auto insurance laws. If you are found to be driving without proof of insurance, you will be fined $250 and you may also be convicted of a misdemeanor. Multiple offenders will find that Minnesota is not at all lenient with drivers and the fines will increase to up to $1,000. Repeat offenders may also be convicted of a gross misdemeanor, which could result in a 90 day jail sentence. Repeat offenders may also have their driver's license suspended or revoked as well.

Saving money on auto insurance is a high priority for a lot of people in Minnesota and there are a variety of ways that you can do this. One is to purchase a vehicle that is cheaper to insure. Many people are under the misconception that a vehicle that is brand new is less expensive to insure. However, the cost of repairing or replacing a new vehicle costs more than an older one and as such insurance companies charge more to insure them, even if they have a lot of safety features and anti-theft devices.

An older vehicle can be cheaper to insure, but you need to ensure that it is safe. You should have a used vehicle inspected and get a vehicle history report (based on the VIN number) to ensure that there is nothing structurally wrong with our car and that it has never been in an accident before. Additionally, purchase a vehicle with air bags and anti-theft devices to further protect it.

A Minnesota auto insurance rate quote will also go a long way towards helping you save money on car insurance because you will be able to compare vehicles side by side and choose the least expensive option available.


Car Insurance
  • Rates
  • Quotes
  • Compare
  • Buy
Your policy for Minnesota auto insurance must include a minimum of $30,000 of coverage for single-person bodily damages in any accident.

High required minimum coverage levels for Minnesota auto insurance cause premium rates to be more than $200 above the national average.

Check additional valuable information of your State Insurance department organization.
Search for Cheap Car Insurance Quotes by State