Louisiana Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements, Tips for Saving Money

Buying the right Louisiana auto insurance coverage takes some time and effort on the part of the consumer. Be prepared to shop around for the best rates by asking for quotes from a number of insurance providers. Buying the right coverage isn't just about rates, though. Policyholders also need to make sure that they are dealing with a company that has the financial resources to pay off on a large claim, if necessary.

To find out whether a particular Louisiana auto insurance company is financially solvent, a consumer can check the company's web site. Many of them include this information on the company's "About Us" or "History" page. They can also request that a company they are considering buying a policy from provide them with a letter indicating the company's letter grade from a national rating firm.

Louisiana drivers must carry liability insurance of 10/20/10 on their vehicle. This works out to a minimum of $10,000 in bodily injury insurance for one person injured in a motor vehicle accident. The second number refers to the minimum level of $20,000 in coverage required to pay for medical bills and other expenses incurred by all people injured in a single accident. The final number is reserved for the amount of property damage insurance required by the state. Each driver must have at least $10,000 in coverage to pay for the cost of repairing the other vehicle as well as damage to sign posts, mail boxes, fences, sheds, garages, etc. Failing to have Louisiana auto insurance liability coverage in place is a serious offense. A driver who is caught without out it may have to pay a fine and may have his or her vehicle impounded.

Proof of insurance must be provided if the vehicle is stopped by a law enforcement officer. If the driver cannot do so, the vehicle may be impounded immediately. The officer may also remove the plates and place a yellow sticker on the back windshield of the car. Drivers then have three days to provide the Office of Motor Vehicles with this documentation.

If this doesn't happen during the three days given and the driver is stopped again, the car can be impounded until the driver produces proof of coverage. The cost of towing and of any reinstatement fees must also be paid before the vehicle is returned. Fines for driving without insurance start at $75 for a first offense and go up to $700 by the third conviction.

To avoid lapses in coverage, always include your auto insurance company on your list of places to notify if you move. Make a note of when your coverage is due to expire. You should receive a notice from your insurance company to let you know that the policy is up for renewal. If you don't receive anything, check with your Louisiana auto insurance agent to make sure that the company has the correct contact information for you.

Car Insurance
  • Rates
  • Quotes
  • Compare
  • Buy
Always research the financial stability of the Louisiana auto insurance company that you are considering.

State minimum liability requirements for Louisiana auto insurance are set relatively low at $10,000/$20,000/$10,000.

Check additional valuable information of your State Insurance department organization.
Search for Cheap Car Insurance Quotes by State