Kansas Auto Insurance No-fault Laws, Fraud Types and Premium Rates

Kansas Auto Insurance laws state that this is a no fault state that requires liability insurance as well as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) for all motorists. In order to help try and lower insurance rates, the insurance commissioner has instated several programs to help educate consumers about insurance fraud.

Every Kansas auto insurance policy must carry liability coverage of $25,000 per person $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $10,000 per accident for property damage. PIP requirements are $4,500 per person for medical expenses, $900 per month for disability or loss of income up to one year, $25 per day for services required in the home, $4,500 for rehabilitation expense, and $2,000 for funeral, burial, or cremation expense. Survivor Benefits must include disability or loss of income for up to $900 per month for one year and in-home services for $25 per day for one year.

Further Kansas auto insurance requirements are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured and underinsured motorists. While there are ways to reduce insurance premiums, it is estimated that every household in the United States pays $200 to $300 per year in higher premiums in order to offset fraudulent claims. Second to tax evasion, fraudulent insurance claims are the largest white collar crime and it affects all policyholders through their Kansas auto insurance and auto insurance everywhere.

Types of Insurance Fraud
"External" and "Internal" are the two main types of insurance fraud. Logically, internal fraud is committed by staff members of a given insurance company. This type of fraud involves counterfeiting insurance certificates, identification cards, policies and the like. External fraud on the other hand, is committed by individuals outside of the insurance company. For example, policyholders, doctors, physical therapists, chiropractors, beneficiaries and various other individuals are all capable of falsifying information to maximize claim payouts.

Different crimes of insurance fraud include arson, disaster fraud, exaggerated claims, falsifying reports, fraudulent claims, medical fraud, personal injury schemes, and property fraud. Some common vehicle scams are driving down (waving someone to go and then hitting them as they pass), hit and run, paper accidents (creating false police reports), personal misrepresentation on a policy, repair fraud, self-destruction of vehicle, sideswiping, and the swoop and squat, which occurs when two fraudulent cars conspire against you to have a rear end collision.

Insurance fraud ranges from the simple to the complex. And while some people very intentionally scam an insurance company, others are not aware that their little white lie on their own policy is also a form of insurance fraud. Awareness is the first step to cracking down on insurance fraud, and ultimately to lowering premiums on Kansas auto insurance coverage - and for policies all across the United States.

Car Insurance
  • Rates
  • Quotes
  • Compare
  • Buy
A minimum of $50,000 is required on your Kansas auto insurance policy to cover the potential cumulative bodily damages caused in any given accident.

All state motorists are required to include Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage on their policies for Kansas auto insurance.

Check additional valuable information of your State Insurance department organization.
Search for Cheap Car Insurance Quotes by State